

LOW GDP QUALIFYING COUNTRIES - 2024

The EARLI Board of Directors continues its efforts to recognise high-quality research conducted in countries that are facing financial struggles and where researchers have little access to funds. To support researchers currently working in a low GDP country, EARLI offers both a reduced EARLI membership fee as well as reduced conference fees¹.

To determine the status of a low GDP country in 2024, EARLI uses the World Bank Data for 202²:

- African countries
- Asian countries (excluding Bahrain, Brunei Darussalam, Hong Kong SAR, Israel, Japan, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Macao SAR, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, United Arab Emirates)
- South American and Caribbean countries (excluding Aruba, The Bahamas, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Puerto Rico, Sint Maarten (Dutch), Virgin Islands (US))
- South Pacific countries (excluding Australia, Guam, New Caledonia, New Zealand)
- and the following countries in wider European area: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, North Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Turkiye and Ukraine.

¹ To qualify for these fees, you must reside and work in a low GDP country (as per your institute and country of employment in your EARLI account).

² <u>https://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GDP.PCAP.CD?most_recent_year_desc=true.</u>

A low-GDP country is determined as a country which has an annual GDP per capita lower than 71% of the GDP of the total European Union (lower than \$ 26 376,21 USD).

Please consult the full list of low GDP qualifying countries for 2024 (in alphabetical order):

Α

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Arab Republic of Egypt, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan.

В

Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi.

С

Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao.

D

Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic.

Е

Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia.

F

Fiji, French Polynesia.

G

Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana.

н

Haiti, Honduras, Hungary.

I

India, Indonesia, Iraq, Islamic Republic of Iran.

J

Jamaica, Jordan.

Κ

Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kyrgyz Republic.

L

Lao PDR, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania.

Μ

Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar.

Ν

Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Northern Mariana Islands.

0

Oman.

Ρ

Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal.

R

Republic of Congo, Republic of Yemen, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda.

S

Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovak Republic, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Martin (French), St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic.

Т

Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkiye, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu.

U

Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan.

V

Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam.

W

West Bank and Gaza.

Y

Yemen.

z

Zambia, Zimbabwe.